Pea, fennel, leek and spinach soup

I was searching for something to make using the ingredients I had not used during the week, when I came across this soup on Gourmet Traveller that combined almost everything that I had. The soup combination was great, you can taste each individual element, but they combine into a nice whole. We ate this with some plain scones.

Ingredients

  • 1 large fennel bulb sliced
  • 3 leeks sliced
  • 1 large garlic clove sliced
  • 1L vegetable stock
  • 500g frozen peas
  • 150g baby spinach
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Finely grated Parmesan cheese to taste

Method

  1. Cut up the leeks, fennel and garlic and cook in a large pot with some olive oil over a medium heat for 10 minutes, until soft but not coloured. I cut my leeks and fennel using the slicing attachment of my food processor as it is quick and makes everything the same size so cooks evenly.
  2. Add the vegetable stock, spinach and peas, bring to the boil and simmer for 20 minutes.
  3. Blend smooth, taste and season with salt and pepper
  4. Ladle out into bowls and grate over a little Parmesan
This entry was posted in Soups and broths and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pea, fennel, leek and spinach soup

  1. Pingback: Leek Soup « I Love Soup

  2. Pingback: I Love Soup - Leek Soup

Leave a comment